Pop Albums:

The New Happy



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Hurry! Only 2 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships tomorrow!


Mighty Fast, Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tomorrow 6-9pm using Evening Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tuesday using standard courier delivery


The fifth release from Wellington-born psych-pop outfit Glass Vaults.

Their sophomore LP, The New Happy, is an exploration of the euphoric sensations associated with Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR).

ASMR, otherwise known as a “brain orgasm,” is an aurally triggered euphoric experience characterised by a tingling in the scalp which travels down the neck and spine and The New Happy was specifically mixed to elicit an ASMR effect. “We focused on retaining short high frequency transients and worked on modulating and panning certain sounds to induce goose bumps and shivers when listened through headphones,” Smith explains of the record’s atmos­pheric ambiance. “It looks not to emulate a sexual high, but a deeper, euphoric wave, that washes over the body in feelings of comfort and security… a new kind of happy.”

Written in the band’s Te Aro studio, a light-filled space in a semi-abandoned office building in Wellington NZ’s Central Business District, the band set to recording their dreamy pop grooves over three days in the capital city’s blue-fronted Blue Barn studios. While Larsen and Pierce both come from a visual/ performing arts background, it has been the fusing of Smiths sonic genius that led to the experimentation with both the emotional and scientific approach to creating glorious music.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Mindreader
  2. Ms Woolley
  3. Brooklyn
  4. Savant
  5. Sojourn [CD ONLY]
  6. Rewind
  7. The New Happy
  8. Bleached Blonde
  9. Halaah Ha!
Release date NZ
May 12th, 2017
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 180 Banana Points