Children & Young Adult Books:

Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson & the Olympians book 1
Click to share your rating 4 ratings (4.8/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Paperback
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) by Rick Riordan
$19.00

or 4 payments of $4.75 with Learn more

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Hurry! Only 3 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships tomorrow!
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tomorrow 6-9pm using Evening Express
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Thursday using standard courier service

Buy together

14% of people buy The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson #1) and Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters: Bk. 2 ~ Paperback / softback ~ Rick Riordan.

Buy together: $39.48

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars Based on 4 Customer Ratings

5 star
(3)
4 star
(1)
3 star
(0)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
Write a Review
"Think you know Greek myths- Think again!"
5 stars"

12 year-old Percy Jackson thinks he's just an ordinary kid. That is until he vaporises his maths teacher with a sword during a school trip and discovers that his friend Grover is half-goat. From then on, his whole life changes. Percy soon finds out that he is the son of Poseidon, Greek god of the sea.

After he gets sent away to Camp Half-Blood, a special training camp for other children of the gods, Percy, along with Grover and Annabeth (daughter of Athena, Greek goddess of wisdom) are soon sent on a dangerous quest to the Underworld. The master lightning bolt of Zeus, Greek god of the sky, has been stolen and if Percy doesn't find the bolt soon, it may trigger a war between the gods that could end the world.

If you're into fantasy novels like Harry Potter, you'll enjoy this story. Rick Riordan's written a whole series of books about Percy and his mythological adventures, but this one is the first. Even if you don't know much about Greek gods or myths beforehand, you will after reading this.

All the gods have been modernised (Poseidon for example, is dressed like someone out on the beach, with shorts and a shirt with parrots and coconuts on it), as well as heaps of Greek monsters that Percy has to battle in his quest, like the Minotaur (who is half man, half bull), and Medusa (who has snakes for hair and can turn anyone who looks at her to stone).

There are also plenty of funny moments packed into the story as well, like when Percy uses his water-controlling powers to blast water out of all the camp toilets.

Overall, this is an exciting adventure story, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and a great introduction to the world of Greek myths.

For more great reviews like this one, be sure to check out booksjackreads.com.

Description

Now in paperback–the first novel of a new series that mixes classic Greek mythology with modern adventure. After learning he is a demigod, Percy Jackson is sent to a summer camp on Long Island, where he meets the father he never knew–Poseidon, god of the sea.

Release date NZ
March 1st, 2006
Author
Audience
  • Children / Juvenile
Country of Publication
United States
Imprint
Hyperion
Interest Age
From 10 to 14 years
Reading Age
From 10 to 14 years
Dimensions
130x191x25
ISBN-13
9780786838653
Product ID
3835439

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...