Non-Fiction Books:

The League That Didn't Exist

A History of the All-American Football Conference, 1946-1949



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The League That Didn't Exist by Gary Webster

Pre-order to reserve stock from our first shipment. Your credit card will not be charged until your order is ready to ship.

Available for pre-order now
Pre-order Price Guarantee

If you pre-order an item and the price drops before the release date, you’ll pay the lowest price. This happens automatically when you pre-order and pay by credit card or pickup.

If paying by PayPal or internet banking, and the price drops after you have paid, you can ask for the difference to be refunded. Find out more

If Mighty Ape's price changes before release, you'll pay the lowest price.


This product will be released on

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • 1 January using standard courier delivery


This book tells the story of the All-America Football Conference, which was the only challenger to the NFL (except for the American Football League of the 1960s) to survive more than two seasons in competition with the established league. It takes a brief look at all of the NFL's challengers (and would-be challengers) from 1926-1945, and then explains how the All-America Conference overcame obstacles that proved too difficult for others and opened the season of 1946 with teams on the east coast, in the Midwest, on the west coast, and in the deep South, making it a truly "All-American" enterprise. The story of each season, and off-season, is told in detail. The AAFC ultimately failed to achieve its goal of a peaceful co-existence with the NFL, and to this day the establishment prefers to ignore its memory. But two of the AAFC's teams, the Cleveland Browns and San Francisco 49ers, which we absorbed by the NFL in 1950, are still in business. The AAFC left behind four exciting seasons of football, some memorable games, and many great players, whose legacies shouldn't be buried beneath the sands of time.

Author Biography

Gary Webster has spent many years in commercial radio in northeastern Ohio and is the author of four books for McFarland.
Release date NZ
December 30th, 2018
Country of Publication
United States
McFarland & Co Inc
Product ID

Customer previews

Nobody has previewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Preview

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 624 Banana Points