Crime & Mystery Books:

The Last Days of Newgate

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Last Days of Newgate

An addictive mystery thriller full of twists and turns

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Last Days of Newgate by Andrew Pepper
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

'A story of high intrigue and low politics, brutal murder and cunning conspiracies . . . tangy and rambunctious stuff!' Observer 'Gripping and atmospheric' Daily Express 'Enjoyably disturbing . . . likely to leave the reader clamouring for more' TLS St Giles, London, 1829: three people have been brutally murdered and the city simmers with anger and political unrest. Pyke, sometime Bow Street Runner, sometime crook, finds himself accidentally embroiled in the murder investigation but quickly realises that he has stumbled into something more sinister and far-reaching. In his pursuit of the murderer, Pyke ruffles the feathers of some powerful people and, falsely accused of murder himself, he soon faces a death sentence and the gallows. Imprisoned, and with only his uncle and the headstrong, aristocratic daughter of his greatest enemy to help, Pyke must engineer his escape, find the real killer and untangle the web of intrigue that has been spun around him. A story of intrigue, conspiracy and murder set in 19th-century Britain for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Ripper Street and Patrick Easter. 'The novel drips with all the atmospheric details of a pre-Victorian murder mystery - "pea-soupers", dingy lanterns and laudanum' The Times 'Pyke ia an intriguingly unfathomable character' Financial Times 'Pyke is violent, vengeful and conflicted in the best tradition of detectives. His story takes in grisly murder and torture, and uses 1800s London in the same way that hard-boiled fiction uses Los Angeles as a mirror of a corrupt society' Time Out

Author Biography

Andrew Pepper is 36 and lives in Belfast where he is a lecturer in English at Queen's University. This is his first novel.
Release date NZ
July 5th, 2007
Author
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Pages
400
Dimensions
129x199x24
ISBN-13
9780753821688
Product ID
1670819

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 146 Banana Points