Fiction Books:

The Lace Weaver

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Paperback / softback
$19.00

Or Buy Now, Pay Later with:

Afterpay is available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Humm is available on orders $20 to $5000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from a Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown.

Usually ships in 6-8 weeks
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 6-11 October using standard courier service

Description

The bestselling, breathtaking debut about love and war, and the battle to save a precious legacy. Each lace shawl begins and ends the same way - with a circle. Everything is connected with a thread as fine as gossamer, each life affected by what has come before it and what will come after. 1941, Estonia. As Stalin's brutal Red Army crushes everything in its path, Katarina and her family survive only because their precious farm produce is needed to feed the occupying forces. Fiercely partisan, Katarina battles to protect her grandmother's precious legacy - the weaving of gossamer lace shawls stitched with intricate patterns that tell the stories passed down through generations. While Katarina struggles to survive the daily oppression, another young woman is suffocating in her prison of privilege in Moscow. Yearning for freedom and to discover her beloved mother's Baltic heritage, Lydia escapes to Estonia. Facing the threat of invasion by Hitler's encroaching Third Reich, Katarina and Lydia and two idealistic young soldiers, insurgents in the battle for their homeland, find themselves in a fight for life, liberty and love. Praise for The Lace Weaver 'A beautifully written and utterly compelling story of love and war and resistance that shines a light onto a dark and tragic period of history while also illuminating the enduring power of love and friendship. Unforgettable and emotionally wrenching, and as exquisite as the lace the women of the story weave.' Kate Forsyth 'A sweeping historical story set in Estonia and Russia during the tumultuous year of 1941 ... This is a meticulously researched novel, and Chater seamlessly incorporates the symbolic motif of the Estonian lace-weaving tradition and the Tartu knitting circle to link the past and present ... Recommended for fans of Kirsty Manning and Kate Morton, this is a gut-wrenching tale about a devastating time in history. Full of hope, heartache and the power of keeping traditions alive.' Books+Publishing 'From the very first line, I was captivated by this tale of two very different, but equally heroic, women. There is beauty to be found everywhere: in the writing, in the women's friendship, in the tragedy, and in the motif of the lace shawls, which weaves the story together.' Natasha Lester, author of Her Mother's Secret and A Kiss from Mr Fitzgerald 'A rich, textured and evocatively told story of love, loss and the ties that bind. The setting is exotic and intriguing and presents a unique side of the war ... I found it difficult to put this haunting novel down and it will stay with me for a long time to come, I'm certain. Lauren Chater is a bold new force in Australian historical fiction. Bravo on a glorious debut!' Tess Woods, author of Beautiful Messy Love and Love at First Flight. 'Beautiful and brilliant ... An impressive, powerful and skillfully told anti-war novel from an extremely gifted writer.' Backstory journal

Author Biography:

Lauren Chater is the author of the historical novels The Lace Weaver and Gulliver's Wife, as well as the baking compendium Well Read Cookies - Beautiful Biscuits Inspired by Great Literature. In 2018 she was awarded a grant by the Neilma Sidney Literary Fund to travel to the Netherlands to research her third novel The Winter Dress, inspired by a real 17th century gown found off the Dutch coast in 2014. She has made appearances at the Brisbane Writers Festival, Storyfest, the Southern Highlands Writers' Festival and the Tamar Valley Writers' Festival, as well as many others. She is currently completing her Masters of Cultural Heritage through Deakin University. For more Lauren, see: www.laurenchater.com www.thewellreadcookie.com www.instagram.com/the_well_read_cookie www.facebook.com/LaurenChaterWriter www.twitter.com/WellReadCookie
Release date NZ
March 1st, 2019
Author
Pages
432
Audience
  • General (US: Trade)
Country of Publication
Australia
Imprint
Simon & Schuster Australia
Dimensions
130x200x32
ISBN-13
9781925596359
Product ID
27863151

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...