New Zealand Music:

The Great New Zealand Songbook

Click to share your rating 23 ratings (4.3/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars Based on 23 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Showing top 3 most helpful reviews.

View all 5 reviews...

Write a Review
"Sweet as kiwiana"
5 stars"

I'm now a Kiwi living over in Australia and I bought it in NZ before I left for Australia. The compilation is awesome with 42 of the greatest kiwi songs past and present to be on this cd set.

This cd compilation is a must for all Kiwis to own whether you live in NZ or a kiwi living overseas to remind you of the good times in NZ. Choice Sony Music NZ

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
"It was rell good to dell with you will do aning"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

I like how fast the cd got here

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
"Well packaged and promptly delivered"
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

Expected a bit of a problem for a late Xmas delivery but not so. Well within their time frame.


After attending the Split Enz Vector Arena concert in March 2008, Murray Thom (the creator behind this unique project), turned to his son and said that they had just heard the "The Great New Zealand Songbook". That was the birth of a project, which from the outset, encapsulated more than just the music.

The final result is this two CD set, featuring 42 of New Zealand's favourite recording artists -- including Split Enz, Dave Dobbyn, Neil Finn, Supergroove, Bic Runga, Shihad, Dragon, Opshop, Evermore, Brooke Fraser, The Chills, Ladyhawke and many more, performing a selection of the best New Zealand music from the 'Last Century' and 'This Century'.

The iconic front cover art of Charlie 'The Four Square Man' holding a guitar is an original work by acclaimed New Zealand artist Dick Frizzell and was commissioned specifically for this release. The 2CD set comes with four different coloured Dick Frizzell postcards to send to friends.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Tihore Mai - Moana & The Tribe
  2. Give It A Whirl - Split Enz
  3. Whaling - DD Smash
  4. Dominion Rd - The Muttonbirds
  5. Why Does Love Do This To Me- - The Exponents
  6. How Bizarre - OMC
  7. Taller Than God - Strawpeople
  8. April Sun In Cuba - Dragon
  9. Sinner - Neil Finn
  10. Break In The Weather - Jenny Morris
  11. Sitting Inside My Head - Supergroove
  12. Heavenly Pop Hit - The Chills
  13. Counting The Beat - The Swingers
  14. Nature - The Fourmyula
  15. Drive - Bic Runga
  16. Slice Of Heaven - Dave Dobbyn & Herbs
  17. Gutter Black - Hello Sailor
  18. Home Again - Shihad
  19. Venus - The Feelers
  20. For Today - Netherworld Dancing Toys
  21. Better Be Home Soon - Crowded House
Disc 2:
  1. Welcome Home - Dave Dobbyn
  2. Get Some Sleep - Bic Runga
  3. It's Too Late - Evermore
  4. No Ordinary Thing - Opshop
  5. Damn The River - The Phoenix Foundation
  6. Cool Me Down - The Black Seeds
  7. Arithmetic - Brooke Fraser
  8. Always On My Mind - Tiki Taane
  9. For A While - Stellar*
  10. Not Many - Scribe
  11. Bathe In The River - Hollie Smith
  12. Wandering Eye - Fat Freddy's Drop
  13. Swing - Savage
  14. Dreams In My Head - Anika Moa
  15. Out Of This World - Tim Finn
  16. Maybe Tomorrow - Goldenhorse
  17. Better To Be - Liam Finn
  18. My Delirium - Ladyhawke
  19. Sophie - Goodshirt
  20. Home - Annah Mac
  21. Pokarekare Ana - Margaret Urlich
Release date NZ
April 28th, 2009
Thom Marketing
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
All-time sales rank
Top 1000
Product ID


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...