Children & Young Adult Books:

The Dark is Rising Sequence (5 in 1 Volume)

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Dark is Rising Sequence (5 in 1 Volume)



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Dark is Rising Sequence (5 in 1 Volume) by Susan Cooper
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Must-own fantasy adventure series in one volume"
5 stars"

30 years after first reading it, this series (along with the C.S Lewis Narnia one) ranks as the only children's books I continue to read regularly, and I'm still as enchanted now as I was then.

Grounded in Celtic and Welsh legends, the Light vs. Dark fantasy adventures are immediately engaging, but also have surprising depth – you'll find plenty to entrance you even after multiple reads.

The 1st and 3rd books featuring the Drew children are good but probably the weakest in the set. The Will Stanton books – “The Dark is Rising”, “The Grey King” (Newbery Medal winner) and “Silver on the Tree” are fantastic and the many vivid characters (especially Will) and thrilling stories will keep you gripped to the end.

Although widely considered classics and they have won awards, these books deserve to be talked about more!

Will be loved by all, but best for ages 8 to 13.


One of the most celebrated fantasy sequences of all time, The Dark Is Rising is a searing, epic rendering of the eternal conflict between good and evil. Together in one volume: "Over Sea", "Under Stone"; "The Dark is Rising"; "Greenwitch"; "The Grey King"; and "Silver on the Tree".

Barney, Jane and Simon discover an ancient map in Cornwall; the mysterious Merriman reveals his secret purpose; and Will Stanton realizes that he is not just an ordinary boy but has a far greater role in fulfilling his destiny. Creating a magical world where the everyday mingles with the supernatural, "The Dark is Rising Sequence" weaves a story of secret codes, strange prophecies, the legend of King Arthur and a centuries-old conflict between the power of good and the forces of evil.

Over Sea, Under Stone
On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is even more than that -- the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as the Dark. And in searching for it themselves, the Drews put their very lives in peril.

The Dark is Rising - Newberry Honor Book
On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift-- that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light. And for the twelve days of Christmas, while the Dark is rising, life for Will is full of wonder, terror, and delight.

Simon, Jane and Barney, enlisted by their mysterious great uncle, arrive in a small coastal town to help recover a priceless golden grail stolen by the forces of evil, the Dark. They are not at first aware of the strange powers of another boy brought to help, Will Stanton -- nor of the sinister significance of the Greenwitch, an image of leaves and branches that for centuries has been cast into the sea for good luck in fishing and harvest.

The Grey King - Newbery Medal winner
There is a Welsh legend about a harp of gold, hidden within a certain hill, that will be found by a boy and a white dog with silver eyes -- a dog that can see the wind. Will Stanton knew nothing of this when he came to Wales to recover from a severe illness. But when he met Bran, the strange boy who owned a white dog, he began to remember. For Will is the last-born of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to saving the world from the forces of evil, the Dark. And it is Will's task to wake -- with the golden harp -- the six who must be roused from their long slumber in the Welsh hills to prepare for the last battle between the Dark and the Light.

Silver on the Tree
The Dark is rising in its last and greatest bid to control the world. And Will Stanton -- last-born of the immortal Old Ones, dedicated to keeping the world free -- must join forces with his ageless master Merriman and Bran, the Welsh boy whose destiny ties him to the Light. Drawn in with them are the three Drew children, who are mortal, but have their own vital part in the story...

Reviews for Series

"Beautifully told...superbly written." -- New York Times
"Susan Cooper is one of the few contemporary writers who has the vivid imagination, the narrative power, and the moral vision that permit her to create the kind of sweeping conflict between good and evil that lies at the heart of all great fantasy. Tolkien had it. So did C. S. Lewis. And Cooper writes in the same tradition." -- Psychology Today

Author Biography

Susan Cooper read English at Oxford University before going on to write for The Sunday Times, where her first boss was Ian Fleming (of James Bond fame). Susan has written both fiction and picture books for children, including King of Shadows which was shortlisted for The Carnegie Medal 2000. She now lives in America where she continues to write novels, picture books and screenplays. The Dark is Rising Sequence is being made into a motion picture due for release in October 2007.
Release date NZ
October 4th, 2007
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Bodley Head Children's Books
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 217 Banana Points