Fiction Books:

The Clockmaker's Wife

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Paperback / softback
The Clockmaker's Wife by Daisy Wood
$26.00
Elsewhere:
$33.00 save 21%

or 4 payments of $6.50 with Learn more

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Hurry! Only 5 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships Wednesday!
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tonight 6-9pm using Same Day
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tonight to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Thursday using standard courier service

Description

The world is at war. And time is running out... London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter - leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the clockmaker who keeps Big Ben chiming. When Arthur disappears, Nell is desperate to find him. But her search will lead her into far darker places than she ever imagined... New York, Present Day. When Ellie discovers a beautiful watch that had once belonged to a grandmother she never knew, she becomes determined to find out what happened to her. But as she pieces together the fragments of her grandmother's life, she begins to wonder if the past is better left forgotten... A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy and Suzanne Kelman. Readers love Daisy Wood: 'A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut.' Mandy Robotham, internationally bestselling author of The Berlin Girl 'I couldn't put it down. My favourite kind of historical fiction.' Reviewer 'Wonderful.' Reviewer 'Brilliantly captures the essence of 1940s England. Highly recommended!' Reviewer Set between WWII and today, and America and England, I totally loved this outstandingly amazing book. Five stars!' Reviewer 'Daisy Wood skillfully navigates between two timelines, and her descriptions of the war are really masterful.' Reviewer 'The perfect blend of historical fiction and espionage.' Reviewer 'Beautifully written... I highly recommend this treasure!' Reviewer

Author Biography

Daisy Wood worked in publishing for some years before leaving to concentrate on her own writing. She has had several children's books published, both historical and contemporary, and is happiest rooting about in the London Library on the pretext of research. She lives in south London and when not locked away in her study can be seen in various city parks, running after a rescue Pointer with a Basset Hound in tow.
Release date NZ
June 2nd, 2021
Author
Audience
  • General (US: Trade)
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
Pages
400
Dimensions
153x232x24
ISBN-13
9780008468118
Product ID
34204831

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...