Fiction Books:

The Brass Dolphin

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

The Brass Dolphin


Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Brass Dolphin by Caroline Harvey
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Lila Cunningham, motherless since babyhood, was almost twenty-one when her familiar, boring life in a small town on the Suffolk coast came abruptly to an end. It was 1938, and after many years of struggling she learned with a shock that her endearing but feckless artist father faced financial disaster. With the loss of their home imminent, they had no option but to accept an offer of a house in Malta, and on that hot and exotic island, in the magnificent but crumbling Villa Zonda , Lila at last glimpsed a chance of a life she had always dreamed of. But war was looming, and Malta became the focus of Hitler's attention just as Lila became the focus of attention of three very different young men. As bombing devastated the island and Lila, along with the other inhabitants, learned to live with privation and fear, she also came slowly to realise the value of true love in all its forms, and the difference between hope and illusion. In this enchanting new novel Joanna Trollope, writing as Caroline Harvey, captures all the warmth and romance of Malta as well as its dramatic sufferings during the second world war.

Author Biography

Caroline Harvey is the pseudonym of Joanna Trollope, the highly acclaimed author of bestselling contemporary novels. The Choir, A Village Affair, A Passionate Man, The Rector's Wife, The Men and the Girls, A Spanish Lover, The Best of Friends, Next of Kin, Other People's Children, Marrying the Mistress, Girl from the South and Second Honeymoon are all published by Black Swan. She has also written a study of women in the British Empire, Britannia's Daughters. As Caroline Harvey she has written several historical novels including Legacy of Love, A Second Legacy, Parson Harding's Daughter, The Steps of the Sun, Leaves from the Valley, City of Gems and The Taverners' Place, which are all published by Corgi Books. Joanna Trollope was born in Gloucestershire, where she still lives. She was appointed OBE in the 1996 Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature.
Release date NZ
March 5th, 1998
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Corgi Books
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...