Children & Young Adult Books:

The Boy Who Steals Houses

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Paperback / softback
The Boy Who Steals Houses by C. G. Drews
$15.00
Elsewhere:
$20.00 save 25%

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships in 3-4 weeks
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 16-19 November using standard courier service

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
(1)
4 star
(0)
3 star
(0)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
Write a Review
""You can do monstrous things and not be a monster.""
5 stars"

Review: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

TW: violence, blood, theft, abuse.

15-year-old Sammy Lou and his older brother Avery have been stealing houses for the past year of their lives; they break into empty houses just so they have a roof over their heads and food in their stomachs. But the relationship between the brothers is becoming tense, and past secrets are haunting their every move. When Sammy accidentally ends up with the lovingly-chaotic De Lainey family, things become even more complicated.

I had no expectations going into this book. I just knew it sounded like something I’d enjoy. Holy hell did I more than enjoy this! TBWSH is an emotional rollercoaster: you laugh, cry, smile, and get warm fuzzies all in one chapter. The imagery is on point and all of the characters are so well developed. While I desperately want a sequel, I’m also completely satisfied with how it ended. I definitely need to pick up C G Drews’ first book!

“He doesn’t break into houses because he enjoys stealing. He stalks vacant windows and tricks locks and sleeps in stolen beds because he just wants to be home.”

“He puts his wishes into small metal keys and tucks them in his pocket to keep him breathing.”

“The fantasy turns to puffs of dust and curls of ghosts and he’s lying in an empty room, crying hot salty tears into the carpet.”

“You can do monstrous things and not be a monster.”

Description

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story. Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him. Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Author Biography

C.G. Drews lives in Australia with her dog, a piano, and the goal of reading every book in existence. Consequently, her brain has overflowed with words and she spends her days writing novel after novel. She blogs at paperfury.com, never sleeps, and believes in cake for breakfast.
Release date NZ
April 4th, 2019
Author
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Orchard Books
Interest Age
From 12 to 15 years
Pages
368
Dimensions
129x197x26
ISBN-13
9781408349922
Product ID
27824382

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...