Children & Young Adult Books:

The Book of Pearl

Format

Paperback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

The Book of Pearl by Timothee de Fombelle
Our Price:
$24.99
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 5-7 days

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 4-9 August using standard courier delivery

Description

An ode to the power of storytelling by one of France's greatest writers for children. A compelling story of a first love that defines a lifetime; perfect for fans of David Levithan, told with the intricate and beautiful writing style of bestselling author Timothee de Fombelle. Joshua Pearl is from a world that our own no longer believes in. He knows that his great love is waiting for him in that distant place, but he is trapped in our time. As his memories begin to fade, he discovers strange objects, tiny fragments of a story from a long time ago. Can Joshua remember the past and believe in his own story before his love is lost for ever?

Author Biography

Timothee de Fombelle is a much-admired French playwright, as well as the author of award-winning fiction. His first series, Toby Alone and Toby Alone and the Secrets of the Tree has been printed in 27 languages and has won numerous awards including France's prestigious Prix Sorcieres and the Marsh Award. Timothee's adventure series, Vango, Book One: Between Sky and Earth and Vango, Book Two: A Prince Without a Kingdom received huge critical acclaim, and book one was granted an English Pen Award for translation. Timothee also contributed to the acclaimed collection The Great War: an Anthology of Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War. Timothee lives in Paris. Sarah Ardizzone is one of the most sought-after translators working today. She is twice recipient of the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, for Eye of the Wolf by Daniel Pennac (2005) and Toby Alone by Timothee de Fombelle (2009). Sarah appears regularly on the book festival circuit and curates programmes around translation for all ages - including Translation Nation and Translators In Schools. Sarah lives in London, SW2. Sam Gordon is a London-based translator of Arab Jazz by Karim Miske, which won a 2014 English PEN award and was shortlisted for a CWA International Dagger in 2015. Sam also translated Captain Rosalie, a short story by Timothee de Fombelle, which appeared in the Walker Books anthology The Great War: Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War.
Release date NZ
June 2nd, 2016
Contributor
Translated by Sarah Ardizzone
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Walker Books Ltd
Interest Age
From 12
Pages
384
Dimensions
135x215x25
ISBN-13
9781406364620
Product ID
24586752

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 150 Banana Points