Rock Albums:

Stand Back

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships in 6-8 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 30 Oct to 4 Nov using standard courier service

Buy together

20% of people buy Stand Back and Hurts 2B Human ~ CD ~ P!nk.

Buy together: $47.43


Inspired by a Prince song, “Stand Back” is supposedly based on the power that can be unleashed during a heated argument, but the song's rock-induced hooks and sharp keyboard instantly trivialize Nicks' lyrical intentions.

Stand Back” became Stevie Nicks' fifth Top 40 single, stemming from her second solo album entitled The Wild Heart, released in 1983. Nicks had a monumental task ahead of her after the release of her stellar debut album, Bella Donna, in 1981, which netted her four Top 40 singles, with two of them climbing into the Top Ten. Prince originally made it into the studio to play keyboards on the first couple of drafts of “Stand Back,” but it's Sandy Stewart's work that graces the final product, along with Toto's Steve Lukather on guitar. The song was an excellent choice in introducing The Wild Heart, emitting a marvelous rock & roll power through Nick's emotive vocals and through the depth of the soaring keyboards. Like “Edge of Seventeen,” “Stand Back” is rock savvy and forceful, raising the song's stock slightly from a mainstream radio tune to something more expressive. When Fleetwood Mac released The Chain in 1992, a hearty four-CD retrospective of the band, it included a live, previously unreleased version of “Stand Back” with Lindsey Buckingham providing some astonishing guitar work. This rendition, because of Buckingham's guitar prowess and the live atmosphere (where Nicks truly shines), definitely trumps the original. Even so, “Stand Back”‘s most familiar version surely deserves its Top Five status and serves as one of Stevie Nicks’ best rock songs.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Edge of Seventeen (Single Version) [Remaster]
  2. Stop Draggin' My Heart Around (with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers) [Remaster]
  3. Leather and Lace (with Don Henley) [Single Version] [Remaster]
  4. Rooms on Fire (Remaster)
  5. Stand Back (Single Version) [Remaster]
  6. If Anyone Falls (Remaster)
  7. Talk To Me (Remaster)
  8. I Can't Wait (Single Version) [Remaster]
  9. Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You (Remaster)
  10. Long Way to Go (Remaster)
  11. Maybe Love Will Change Your Mind (Radio Remix) [Remaster]
  12. Blue Denim (Remaster)
  13. Every Day (Remaster)
  14. Secret Love (Remaster)
  15. The Dealer (Remaster)
  16. Lady (Remaster)
  17. Dreams (Live) [Remaster]
  18. Gold Dust Woman (Live) [Remaster]
Release date NZ
April 1st, 2019
Rhino / Warner
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...