R&B & Hip Hop Albums:

Speakerboxxx/The Love Below [Explicit Lyrics]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Speakerboxxx/The Love Below [Explicit Lyrics]

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (3.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Includes an untitled hidden track at the end of THE LOVE BELOW CD.

Outkast: Andre "3000" Benjamin, Antwan "Big Boi" Patton.

Additional personnel includes: Sleepy Brown, Jazze Pha, Jay-Z, Killer Mike, Big Gipp, Ludacris, Rosario Dawson, Norah Jones, Kelis, Cee-Lo, Lil Jon, Mello, Slim Calhoun, Kuhjo Goodie.

Producers include: Andre 3000, Mr. DJ, Big Boi, Carl Mo, DoJo 5.

SPEAKERBOXXX/THE LOVE BELOW won the 2004 Grammy Awards for Album Of The Year and for Best Rap Album. "Hey Ya!" won for Best Urban/Alternative Performance. The song was also nominated for Record Of The Year.

Simply put, there is no band that does anything close to what Outkast does. Big Boi & Andre 3000 have consistently managed to maintain mainstream success while obliterating the limits of what is considered to be hip-hop. Frolicking at the outskirts of language, they throw every genre into a blender and make every musical turn sound organic. SPEAKERBOXXX/THE LOVE BELOW is actually two solo records fused together, the former by Big Boi, the latter by Andre 3000, with each mind working at an equally frantic pace to create a gloriously split sonic experience.

Big Boi opens with a techno intro that fades into industrial-style grinding on "Ghettomusick," before settling into more traditional, although far from ordinary, rap tracks on "Unhappy" and "The Way You Move." His most salient moment comes on "War," an uncompromising condemnation of American politics that strikes the perfect balance of righteous rage and measured speech. When Dre takes the reins, the concoction gets wonderfully weirder with everything from the piano bar pop of "Love Hater" to the call and response of "She Lives in My Lap" to the mystery mix of the outstanding single "Hey Ya!" Following the remarkable STANKONIA, SPEAKERBOXXX/THE LOVE BELOW cements Outkast's position as rap innovators and keeps them in the lead as the genre's primary visionaries.

What the critics say...

Rolling Stone (12/25/03, p.109) - Included in Rolling Stone's "50 Best Albums of 2003" - "The most original record to top the charts in 2003, hip-hop or otherwise..."
Entertainment Weekly (12/26/03-1/2/04, p.142) - Ranked #10 in Entertainment Weekly's 2003 "Records of the Year"
Entertainment Weekly (9/19/03, pp.83-5) - "...If released separately, [each solo CD would] be a candidate for Hip-Hop Record of the Year. Packaged together, they make a twofer whose ambition flies so far beyond that of anyone doing rap right now (or pop, or rock, or R&B), awards shows may need to create a special category for it..." - Rating: A
Q (01/01/04, p.83) - Ranked #8 in Q's "The 50 Best Albums of 2003" - "[T]wo fantastic voyages to the outer reaches of psychedelic funk for the price of one..."
Uncut (01/04, pp.84-7) - Ranked #18 in Uncut's "Albums Of The Year 2003" - "Wholly unexpected."
The Wire (01/04, p.38) - Included in Wire's "50 Records Of The Year [2003]"
Mojo (Publisher) (p.65) - Ranked #22 in Mojo's "100 Modern Classics" -- "[SPEAKERBOXX is] a high-rolling hip hop odyssey, Andre's THE LOVE BELOW dreamy, playful, Prince-inspired R&B pop."
Mojo (Publisher) (01/01/04, p.60) - Ranked #2 in Mojo's "The Best of 2003"
Mojo (Publisher) (9/03, pp.99-100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The genius of past Outkast isn't diluted or diminished across these disks, rather it's doubled, expanded and explored. And crucially, confirmed..."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Intro
  2. Ghetto Musick
  3. Unhappy
  4. Bowtie - (featuring Sleepy Brown/Jazze Pha)
  5. Way You Move, The - (featuring Sleepy Brown)
  6. Rooster, The
  7. Bust - (featuring Killer Mike)
  8. War
  9. Church
  10. Bamboo - (interlude)
  11. Tomb Of The Boom - (featuring Konkrete/Big Gipp/Ludacris)
  12. E-Mac - (interlude)
  13. Knowing
  14. Flip Flop Rock - (featuring Killer Mike/Jay-Z)
  15. Interlude
  16. Reset - (featuring Khujo Goodie/Ceelo)
  17. D-Boi - (interlude)
  18. Last Call - (featuring Slimm Calhoun/Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz/Mello)
  19. Bowtie - (postlude)
Disc 2:
  1. Love Below, The - (intro)
  2. Love Hater
  3. God - (interlude)
  4. Happy Valentine's Day
  5. Spread
  6. Where Are My Panties?
  7. Prototype
  8. She Lives In My Lap - (featuring Rosario Dawson)
  9. Hey Ya!
  10. Roses
  11. Good Day, Good Sir
  12. Behold A Lady
  13. Pink & Blue
  14. Love In War
  15. She's Alive
  16. Dracula's Wedding - (featuring Kelis)
  17. Take Off Your Cool - (featuring Norah Jones)
  18. Vibrate
  19. Life In The Day Of Benjamin Andre - (incomplete)
Release date NZ
September 23rd, 2003
LaFace (USA)
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...