Classical & Opera Albums:

Rostropovich Encores

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


For the young Alban Gerhardt, Rostropovich was ‘a reason to become passionate about the cello’: in the notes accompanying this release he recalls being ‘blown away’ on first hearing Slava play live in Berlin. This splendid follow-up to ‘Casals Encores’ sees Gerhardt paying homage to his great predecessor with an eclectic programme of shorter works, including two by Rostropovich himself.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Humoresque Op 5 ROSTROPOVICH [2'10]
  2. Adagio from Cinderella PROKOFIEV [4'53]
  3. Presto from Suite, Op 10 SINDING [1'59]
  4. Oriental dance Op 2 No 2 RACHMANINOV [6'44]
  5. Adagio [3'50]
  6. Variation and Coda [3'09]
  7. March from The love of three oranges PROKOFIEV, arr ROSTROPOVICH [1'45]
  8. Vocalise Op 34 No 14 RACHMANINOV [6'24]
  9. Clair de lune from Suite bergamasque DEBUSSY, arr ROSTROPOVICH [5'05]
  10. Étude in B flat minor Op 8 No 11 SCRIABIN, arr PIATIGORSKY [4'14]
  11. Waltz-Coda from Cinderella PROKOFIEV, arr ROSTROPOVICH [2'52]
  12. Russian maiden's song from Mavra STRAVINSKY, arr MARKEVITCH [3'40]
  13. Elfentanz Op 39 POPPER [2'35]
  14. Nocturne et scherzo DEBUSSY [5'24]
  15. Étude in C sharp minor Op 25 No 7 CHOPIN, arr GLAZUNOV [6'21]
  16. Minstrels from Préludes I DEBUSSY, arr ROSTROPOVICH [3'01]
  17. Pièce en forme de habanera RAVEL [3'07]
  18. Moderato ROSTROPOVICH [3'05] solo cello
Release date NZ
February 13th, 2017
Manufacturer code:
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 168 Banana Points