Classical & Opera Albums:

Poppies & Pohutakawa

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Classical singer and member of the Royal New Zealand Navy Band, Rebecca Nelson, is set to release her debut album, Poppies & Pōhutukawa, on April 7.

Introduced to the magic of the stage at just 4 years old by her grandmother, the idea of a career in music was planted early in Nelson’s mind. Having become inspired by performances such as Shirley Jones’ ‘You’ll Never Walk Alone’ and then at 15 by the rise of Welsh singer Charlotte Church it became evident that this was a very serious option.

  • Now 29, Rebecca’s deter­mination and love for her craft has taken her on the unusual path from busker to performing for royalty (Prince Charles and Prince Harry), singing alongside fellow kiwis Sol3 Mio and national anthems at international rugby matches (for the Irish team, French team, and All Blacks), being chosen as the Royal New Zealand Navy Band’s official singer, and in turn performing at ANZAC commemorations at Gallipoli in 2015 and in France at the 100 year commemorations of the Battle of the Somme last year.
  • With a true passion for war time music and a genuine desire to keep the songs, stories and memories of veterans alive, Rebecca Nelson has become a true star within the military community.
  • “The music I’m singing is all about bringing back memories. Bringing back memories for people who lived through the war, but also bringing back memories for people whose parents or grandparents have passed, and keeping those stories alive.”

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Pokarekare Ana
  2. Bring Him Home
  3. Poppies & Pōhutukawa
  4. Pie Jesu (Ft. Christchurch Boys’ Choir)
  5. A Wartime Medley (We’ll Gather Lilacs / Roses Of Picardy / Keep The Home Fires Burning (Ft. RNZNB)
  6. E tō m�tou Matua (The Lord’s Prayer) (Ft. Christchurch Boys’ Choir)
  7. The White Cliffs of Dover
  8. Whakaaria Mai (How Great Thou Art)
  9. Requiem For A Soldier (Ft. RNZNB)
  10. You’ll Never Walk Alone
  11. We’ll Meet Again
  12. Po Atarau (Now is the Hour)
Release date NZ
March 31st, 2017
Sony Music
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...