Pop Records:

Originals Limited Edition Colour 2LP

Hardback 12" gatefold book with glued pocket holding 2x 180g purple LP and 24 page 4 colour booklet and CD




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

or 4 payments of $32.25 with Learn more
Out of stock

The item is currently out of stock with all our suppliers. Order this item and Mighty Ape will place a backorder and it will ship as soon as it becomes available. The delivery time shown is an estimate based on past averages and subject to change.

Usually ships within 10-14 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Approx. 6-15 August using standard courier delivery


Prince will forever be remembered as a commanding live performer, chart-topping recording artist, and music business revolutionary. Yet for all the time he spent in the spotlight over his four-decade-long career, Prince also worked tirelessly behind the scenes to nurture talent and pen songs for the rising artists he respected.

This June, The Prince Estate will release Originals, a 15-track album featuring 14 previously unreleased recordings that illuminates the vital, behind-the-scenes role Prince played in other artists' careers. The tracks were selected collaboratively by Troy Carter, on behalf of The Prince Estate, and JAY-Z.

On June 21st, Warner Bros. Records will release this extraordinary body of work, sourced directly from Prince's vast archive of Vault recordings, physically on CD, while 180 gram 2LP and limited edition Deluxe CD+2LP formats will follow on July 19th.

Several of the iconic songs found on Originals were considerable hits for the artists who recorded them. Sheila E.‘s “The Glamorous Life” reached #1 on the dance charts in 1984, while the enormous success of “Manic Monday” propelled the single and its accompanying album, The Bangles’ Different Light, to the #2 spot on the pop charts. The Time's Ice Cream Castle, featuring the top 20 “Jungle Love”, spent a whopping 57 weeks on the Billboard 200. And in 1991, Martika enjoyed international success with “Love… Thy Will Be Done”, a top 10 hit in France, Australia, the UK and the USA.

Originals pulls back the curtain to reveal the origins of these familiar songs, in addition to deeper album cuts such as Vanity 6's “Make-Up,” Jill Jones's “Baby, You're a Trip,” and Kenny Rogers' “You're My Love.” The album also features Prince's majestic original 1984 version of “Nothing Compares 2 U,” released in 2018 as a standalone single.

Limited Edition comes with:

  • Hardback 12" gatefold book with glued pocket holding 2× 180g purple LP
  • 24 page 4 colour booklet with CD

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Sex Shooter (first recorded by Apollonia 6 in 1984)
  2. Jungle Love (The Time, 1984)
  3. Manic Monday (The Bangles, 1985)
  4. Noon Rendezvous (Sheila E., 1984)
  5. Make-Up (Vanity 6, 1982)
  6. 100 MPH (Mazarati, 1986)
  7. You're My Love (Kenny Rogers, 1986)
  8. Holly Rock (Sheila E., 1985)
  9. Baby, You're a Trip (Jill Jones, 1987)
  10. The Glamorous Life (Sheila E., 1984)
  11. Gigolos Get Lonely Too (The Time, 1982)
  12. Love... Thy Will Be Done (Martika, 1991)
  13. Dear Michaelangelo (Sheila E., 1985)
  14. Wouldn't You Love to Love Me- (Taja Sevelle, 1987)
  15. Nothing Compares 2 U (The Family, 1985)
Release date NZ
July 19th, 2019
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...