Rock Records:

Niandra Lades And Usually Just A T-Shirt (2LP)

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Niandra Lades And Usually Just A T-Shirt (2LP)

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Niandra LaDes And Usually Just A T-Shirt is the first solo record by John Frusciante. Between 1990 and 1992 the guitarist made a series of 4-track recordings, which at the time were not intended for commercial release. After leaving the band Red Hot Chili Peppers in 1992, Frusciante was encouraged by friends to release the material that he wrote in his spare time during the Blood Sugar Sex Magik sessions.

Originally released on Rick Rubin's American Recordings label in 1994, Niandra LaDes is a mystifying work of tortured beauty. Frusciante plays various acoustic and electric guitars, experimenting with layers of vocals, piano and reverse tape effects. Channelling the ghosts of Syd Barrett and Skip Spence, his lyrics are at once utterly personal and wilfully opaque.

Frusciante's ra­pidfire, angular playing shows how key he was in the Chili Peppers' evolution away from their funk-rock roots. His cover of “Big Takeover” perfectly deconstructs the Bad Brains original with laid-back tempo, twelve-string guitar and a fierce handle on melody.

The album's second part – thirteen untitled tracks that Frusciante defines as one complete piece, Usually Just A T-Shirt – contains several instrumentals featuring his signature guitar style. Sparse phrasing, delicate counterpoint and ethereal textures recall Neu/Harmonia's Micha­el Rother or The Durutti Column's Vini Reilly. On the front cover, Frusciante appears in 1920s drag – a nod to Marcel Duchamp's alter-ego Rrose Sélavy – which comes from Toni Oswald's film Desert in the Shape.

This first-time vinyl release has been carefully remastered and approved by the artist. This double LP set is packaged with gatefold jacket and printed inner sleeves.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. As Can Be
  2. My Smile Is A Rifle
  3. Head (Beach Arab)
  4. Big Takeover
  5. Curtains
  6. Running Away Into You
  7. Mascara
  8. Been Insane
  9. Skin Blues
  10. Your Pussy's Glued To A Building On Fire
  11. Blood On My Neck From Success
  12. Ten To Butter Blood Voodoo
  13. Untitled #1
  14. Untitled #2
  15. Untitled #3
  16. Untitled #4
  17. Untitled #5
  18. Untitled #6
  19. Untitled #7
  20. Untitled #8
  21. Untitled #9
  22. Untitled #10
  23. Untitled #11
  24. Untitled #12
  25. Untitled #13
Release date NZ
November 17th, 2017
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...