Classical & Opera Music Films:

New Year's Concert 2005 -- The Director's Cut

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!
General Audience

General Audience

Suitable for general audiences.

New Year's Concert 2005 -- The Director's Cut on DVD
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Includes :- -Sound of Images (with the Philharmonia Schrammeln) -Catalogue -Trailer The Wiener Philharmoniker (Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra) in concert conducted by Lorin Maazel. "In times of terrible natural disaster and political turmoil we hope our music will inspire and motivate to rebuild what nature and man have destroyed." -Lorin Maazel For 2005 the Wiener Philharmoniker have invited Lorin Maazel to be their conductor, and Maestro Maazel has more than one reason to celebrate: on 6 March he celebrates his 75th birthday, and this concert will also be a silver jubilee for him, for it's is 25 years since he was first invited to direct the orchestra at this event. Thanks to the varied output of the many members of the Strauss family and associates, there will be again no fewer than five pieces that are receiving their New Year's Concert premières: Indigo-March and Haute volée-Polka by Johann Strauss, a waltz called Lustschwärmer and the quick Polka Winterlust by Joseph Strauss, as well as the Polka francaise Auf Wiener Art by Joseph Hellmesberger, jr. For the ballet scenes, Vladimir Malakov, director of the Berlin State Opera Ballet, will bring along his beautiful young soloist Polina Semionova -- gold medal winner of two Moscow Ballet Competitions and the "rising star" of the classical ballet world. It is the first time she's performing in Austria. The ballet will be produced on 2 December 2004 at Palais Coburg in Vienna, a venue that has seen many remarkable first performances of works by Johann Strauss. Vladimir Malakov is not only the choreographer but will also join Polina for Ein Herz, ein Sinn as her partner. Another highlight for the DVD will be the participation of the Italian soloist Giuseppe Picone.
Release date NZ
April 20th, 2006
Movie Format
  • DVD
DVD Region
  • Region 4
  • Standard Edition
Aspect Ratio
  • 1.78 : 1
Supported Audio
  • Dolby Digital Surround 5.1
  • Musical
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...