Techno & Dance Albums:

New Order Presents Be Music (3CD)



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 15-22 February using standard courier delivery


Be Music is a collection of tracks produced & remixed by members of New Order between 1982 & 2015. All tracks have been digitally remastered for this compilation.

The generic tag Be Music was first used in 1981 and covered studio production work by all four members of New Order: Bernard Sumner, Peter Hook, Stephen Morris and Gillian Gilbert. Sumner often teamed with Donald ‘Dojo’ Johnson of A Certain Ratio, including the pioneering electro cuts featured here by Quando Quango, 52nd Street, Marcel King, Paul Haig and Surprize. Morris and Gilbert worked with Thick Pigeon, Life, Red Turns To and also 52nd Street. Although more rock orientated, Hook proved he was no slouch on the dancefloor either with the mighty Fate/Hate by Nyam Nyam.

Opting to distance themselves from previous producer Martin Hannett, New Order began self-producing in 1982, starting with the classic “Everything's Gone Green”. Encouraged by their management and label while embracing cutting-edge technology, the band were keen to experiment with new sounds. Working with young outfits gave them an opportunity to revisit sounds discovered on the dance-floor of clubs in New York circa 1982–83.

New Order handled production on tracks that later made their way full-circle back to New York. Many of these tunes are now regarded as classics of their era.

Disc 1 features production by Bernard Summer.
Disc 2 features production and remixes from Stephen Morris & Gillan Gilbert.
Disc 3 features production work from Peter Hook and the group collectively.
All tracks (12 on vinyl, 36 on the CD) are newly remastered. The liner notes feature commentary on the tracks by the artists and also members of New Order

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Quando Quango Love Tempo
  2. Marcel King Reach For Love
  3. 52nd Street Cool As Ice
  4. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop
  5. Nyam Nyam Fate/Hate
  6. The Beat Club Security (Remix)
  7. Paul Haig The Only Truth
  8. Shark Vegas You Hurt Me
  9. Marcel King Keep On Dancin
  10. Section 25 Reflection
  11. Quando Quango Tingle
  12. Surprize Over Italia
Disc 2:
  1. 52nd Street Can't Afford
  2. Thick Pigeon Babcock + Wilcox
  3. A Certain Ratio Bootsy (Swingfire Mix)
  4. Factory Floor (Real Love)
  5. Section 25 Another Hilltop
  6. The Other Two Inside
  7. Marnie The Hunted (Remix)
  8. Fujiya & Miyagi Daggers (Remix)
  9. Tim Burgess Oh Men (Remix)
  10. Factory Floor A Wooden Box (Remix)
  11. Life Tell Me
  12. Life Tell Me (Theme)
Disc 3:
  1. Peter Hook Lavolta Lokota Theme
  2. Section 25 Knew Noise
  3. Stockholm Monsters All At Once
  4. Royal Family & the Poor Motherland
  5. Winston Tong Theoretical China
  6. The Beat Club Security (Dub)
  7. Marcel King Reach For Love (US Remix)
  8. Thick Pigeon Jess + Bart (Remix)
  9. Red Turns To Deep Sleep
  10. Ad Infinitum Telstar
  11. Section 25 Sakura
  12. New Order Video 5-8-6
Release date NZ
February 17th, 2017
Manufacturer code:
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 228 Banana Points