Rock Records:

New Metal

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!




Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Out of stock

The item is currently out of stock with all our suppliers. Order this item and Mighty Ape will place a backorder and it will ship as soon as it becomes available. The delivery time shown is an estimate based on past averages and subject to change.

Usually ships in 3-4 weeks
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Approx. 5-14 January using standard courier service
    Unlikely to arrive before Christmas


P.H.F.‘s release schedule has been prolific as ever in 2020. His career spanning Anthology compilation & killer singles 'Good Girl’ and ‘Sorry’. But it's been a minute since we've heard a full blown studio album from iconoclastic Tāmaki songwriter and producer Joe Locke. That's all about to change with P.H.F.'s long-teased upcoming record New Metal.

Locke and company have turned a corner yet again. “I think this is the most complex and ‘mature’ album maybe,” Locke details. “It feels like a good combination of all the sounds or phases I have gone through musically, so it's a good summation of the music I like to make.” New Metal, which bears a name Locke chose as an obvious nod to the early ‘00s genre which was hugely influential to him growing up, is a 16 track juggernaut—likely P.H.F.’s most ambitious feat to date. On album ten P.H.F. masters the loud-quiet-loud dynamic with an even balance of heavy and delicate instrumentation, beneath Locke’s tender delivery of some his most thoughtful lyrics yet. Locke sings with the wisdom and agony of a legacy songwriter, detailing his struggle with mental health and modern banality. For New Metal, Locke’s gritty home recordings are souped-up by engineer & co-producer Nick Noneman and live drummer Nich Santana. P.H.F. breathes new life into the rotting corpse of alternative guitar music, with Locke’s masterful incorporation of harmonic dissonance, infectious breakdowns, and atmospheric production.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Everyone Is Dying
  2. Living Is Easy
  3. Imperial Butter
  4. Corped
  5. Do It Anyway
  6. Eat Meat & Kill
  7. I Want U 2
  8. Cuticle
  9. Sud
  10. Marlboro Man
  11. Comms
  12. Simple Pleasures
  13. Pretty
  14. More/Marsh
  15. New Metal
  16. Graze
Release date NZ
November 13th, 2020
Danger Collective
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...