Classic & Cult TV Series:

Monkey: Collector's Edition Box Set (16 Disc)

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Monkey: Collector's Edition Box Set (16 Disc)


Mature Audience

Mature Audience

Suitable for mature audiences 16 years and over.

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


In the worlds before Monkey, primal chaos reigned. Heaven sought order,but the pheonix can fly only when its feathers are grown. The four worlds formed again and yet again,as endless aeons wheeled and passed. Time and the pure essences of Heaven, the moisture of the Earth, the powers of the sun and the moon all worked upon a certain rock, old as creation, and it became magically fertile. That first egg was named 'Thought'. Tathagata Buddha, the Father Buddha,said ,"With our thoughts,we make the world". Elemental forces caused the egg to hatch. From it then came a stone monkey. The nature of Monkey was irrepressible.!! 

These were the words that started each episode of this weird but great Japanese fantasy series. It is based on an epic Chinese story from the 16th Century, called Hsi Yu Chi. Primal chaos ruled the worlds before Monkey. Monkey was born of time, of Heaven and Earth, sun and moon, out of a stone egg. He was irrepressible! The place was like ancient China and the time might have been a thousand years ago. They fought and they though then, as now. Holy Tripitaka prayed . One disciple, Sandy, is a fish-spirit. Pigsy, expelled from Heaven for greed, is a spirit of a pig. He is changing. Everything changes. There is a horse, once a dragon, now evolving into human form. Monkey, Horse, Sandy, Pigsy and Tripitaka are all upon a journey as long as life.

The complete Monkey collection! 

Includes all 52 episodes:

Series 1
"Monkey Goes Wild about Heaven"
"Monkey Turns Nursemaid"
"The Great Journey Begins"
"Monkey Swallows the Universe"
"The Power of Youth"
"Even Monsters Can be People"
"The Beginning of Wisdom"
"Pigsy Woos a Widow"
"What Monkey Calls the Dog-Woman"
"Pigsy's in the Well"
"The Difference Between Night & Day"
"Pearls Before Swine"
"The Minx and the Slug"
"Catfish, Saint and the Shape-Changer"
"Monkey Meets the Demon Digger"
"The Most Monstrous Monster"
"Truth and the Grey Gloves Devil"
"Land for the Locusts"
"The Vampire Master"
"Outrageous Coincidences"
"Pigsy, King and God"
"Village of the Undead"
"Two Little Blessings"
"The Fires of Jealousy"
"The Country of Nightmares"
"The End of the Way"

Series 2
"Pigsy's Ten Thousand Ladies"
"The Dogs of Death"
"You Win Some, You Lose Some" (dubbed 2004)
"Pigsy Learns A Lesson" (dubbed 2004)
"The Land With Two Suns" (dubbed 2004)
"The House of the Evil Spirit" (dubbed 2004)
"Am I Dreaming?" (dubbed 2004)
"The Tormented Emperor" (dubbed 2004)
"Between Heaven and Hell" (dubbed 2004)
"The Foolish Philosopher"
"Who Am I?"
"What is Wisdom?"
"The Fountain of Youth"
"Better The Demon You Know" (dubbed 2004)
"A Shadow So Huge"
"Keep on Dancing"
"Give and Take"
"Such a Nice Monster"
"The Fake Pilgrims (dubbed 2004)
"Pretty as a Picture"
"The Tenacious Tomboy" (dubbed 2004)
"Stoned" (dubbed 2004)
"Hungry Like The Wolf" (dubbed 2004)
"Monkey's Yearning" (dubbed 2004)
"At the Top of the Mountain"
Release date NZ
September 20th, 2007
Movie Format
  • DVD
DVD Region
  • Region 4
  • Collector's Edition
  • Box Set
Aspect Ratio
  • 1.33 : 1
Length (Minutes)
Supported Audio
  • Dolby Digital Surround 2.0
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 900 Banana Points