Funk & Soul Records:

Long Player

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Long Player

10th Anniversary Edition
Click to share your rating 2 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Very Soulful Album"
4 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

A great NZ artist singing Soul/Blues in a way only Kiwi's can. So please it's been re-released with the extra tracks.


Ten years after its original release, Hollie Smith’s debut album LONG PLAYER will be available on vinyl for the first time. To celebrate its anniversary Warner Music NZ will be releasing the original 10 track album on a 2LP gatefold set on September 8. The set will also include a retrospect disc of five songs from Hollie’s career thus far including ‘Bathe In The River’.

Recorded at Trident Studios in Wellington, LONG PLAYER was co-produced by Hollie and Jeremy Toy (Opensouls, She’s So Rad, Leonard Charles) and mixed and mastered by US based engineer Dave Cooley (Rodriguez, Isaac Hayes, J Dilla). Upon release, the album debuted at #1 on the NZ Top 40 Chart and held its place in the top ten for eleven weeks, going on to achieve double-platinum status. LONG PLAYER followed on from Hollie’s breakout moment with the Don McGlashan penned ‘Bathe In The River’ from The Mt Raskil Preservation Society, commissioned for Toa Fraser’s film No.2 The track which captivated the nation peaked at #2 on the chart and spent 37 weeks in the NZ Top 40.

LONG PLAYER is also noted for gaining the attention of Bruce Lundvall, the President of Blue Note Records, who signed Hollie to the legendary American jazz label after listening to the album one morning and being “…completely overwhelmed by her original and soulful voice”.

Following the release of LONG PLAYER, Hollie went on to win ‘Best Female Solo Artist’, ‘Breakthrough Artist of the Year’, ‘Best Aotearoa Roots Album’ and ‘Best Producer’ (with Jeremy Toy) at the New Zealand Music Awards in 2007.

  • 2LP Gatefold
  • 16 Tracks for the first time on vinyl
  • Original 10 track album plus bonus track Miracles
  • Side D = Retrospect – 5 x Songs from the past decade including Bathe in the river

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Can’t let you down
  2. I will do
  3. Philosophy
  4. So Long
Side B:
  1. Provider
  2. Reprise
  3. Own it (ft Captain Imon Starr)
Side C:
  1. What I say
  2. Come for me here
  3. Be whole in thee
  4. Miracles Extra Track
Side D:
  1. Bathe in the river (The Mt Raskil Preservation Society ft Hollie Smith) from NO.2
  2. Helena from Water Or Gold
  3. Mamma from Humour and the Misfortune of Others
  4. Water or Gold from Water Or Gold
  5. Will you be the one from Humour and the Misfortune of Others
Release date NZ
September 11th, 2017
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...