Pop Records:

Long Hot Summers: The Story Of The Style Council (Limited Edition)

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



or 4 payments of $30.00 with Learn more

or 4 payments of $30.00 with Learn more

Hurry! Only 2 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships today!
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tonight 6-9pm using Same Day
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tonight to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tomorrow using standard courier service


When Paul Weller announced The Style Council’s arrival in March 1983, he’d come a very long way. In fact, at the age of just 24, he was already a musical veteran with six albums and nine Top 10 singles under his belt with The Jam. As their leader he had become a deity-like figure and for his fans, The Jam’s split was unimaginable.

But creatively restless and of inquisitive mind, Paul jettisoned them at their height to form a collective with an eventual core line-up of Paul with Mick Talbot, Dee C Lee and Steve White.

In a quest for new sounds, the group travelled to realms previously unchartered for a pop group incorporating musical influences as wide ranging as Blue Note jazz and Chicago soul, Claude Debussy and Erik Satie, Chicago House and Jacques Brel.

At the same time, as battle lines were drawn in a decade under Margaret Thatcher culminating in the miner’s strike of 1984–85, Paul’s lyrics spoke with the language of the activist and his state of the nation addresses were both fierce and eloquent. Over four albums and 17 singles, The Style Council made a stand and became the standard bearers of progressive soulful pop and social comment.

The Style Council was emblematic of its creator. Paul Weller, smart, fearless, audacious, with a social conscience and totally unafraid to push the possibilities of pop. This is their story…

“We set out to have fun, document the times and at the same time we wanted to elevate pop to an art form – I think we did that.” – Paul Weller

  • Double-gatefold wide-spine (2LPs in RH /1LP in LH)
  • 3 x colour-printed inner bags
  • Remastered at Abbey Road
  • Pressed on heavyweight vinyl
  • Limited edition

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Headstart for Happiness
  2. Long Hot Summer
  3. My Ever-Changing Moods
  4. Walls Come Tumbling Down!
  5. Party Chambers
Side B:
  1. Wanted (or Waiter, There's…)
  2. Shout to the Top!
  3. It Just Came to Pieces in My Hands
  4. Come to Milton Keynes
  5. Why I Went Missing
  6. Waiting
Side C:
  1. Ghosts Of Dachau
  2. Down in the Seine
  3. The Paris Match
  4. Life at a Top People's Health Farm
  5. Dropping Bombs On The Whitehouse (Extended version)
Side D:
  1. Speak Like a Child
  2. The Lodgers (Or She Was Only…)
  3. Money Go Round
  4. You're the Best Thing
  5. How She Threw It All Away
Side E:
  1. A Man of Great Promise
  2. The Piccadilly Trail
  3. A Solid Bond in Your Heart
  4. Sweet Loving Ways
  5. Promised Land
  6. It Didn't Matter
Side F:
  1. Have You Ever Had It Blue
  2. Spin' Drifting
  3. Here's One That Got Away
  4. Changing of the Guard
  5. My Ever-Changing Moods (Demo)
Release date NZ
October 30th, 2020
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...