Metal Albums:

Living To Write The End

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product


Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 4-6 days


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 25-31 October using standard courier delivery


Living to Write the End is the follow up to These Four Walls’ 2009 debut release, Down Falls an Empire. The three years between records has seen the band supporting international rock giants Disturbed and Nickelback, as well as Australian heavyweights Karnivool and The Butterfly Effect. They’ve undertaken multiple tours of New Zealand and Australia, and spent two months in Queensland recording the album.

The decision to record overseas was an easy one to make. The band was approached by Australian producer Matt Bartlem (Dead Letter Circus, The Butterfly Effect) who discovered their music via Myspace and saw potential in the group. When offered the opportunity to live on site at Bartlem’s Gold Coast recording facility, Loose Stones Studios, while they recorded the album, the band jumped at the chance to immerse themselves in the recording process.

Living in an apartment directly above the recording facility for eight weeks, with 24-hour access to the studios below enabled the band to inject even greater creativity in the recording process, as ideas could be captured at any time of the day, or more often, night. The band whittled over 20 songs down to 13 which made it onto the album.

The final collection of songs was then sent to veteran engineer Forrester Savell, whose background working with some of Australias biggest rock acts (Karnivool, Birds of Tokyo) made him the number one choice to mix the album.

Living to Write the End features more of the densely-layered and powerful guitar-driven rock that fans have come to expect from the group, while also exploring some new sonic territory through programming and more varied musical influences. Existing fans needn’t be alarmed though, the brooding, heavy guitar riffs and vocalist Steve Gibb’s distinct, melodic performances give the album, a tone which is unmistakably ‘These Four Walls’.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Talons
  2. Passenger
  3. The True Sound of Running
  4. Saints and Sinners
  5. Eyes
  6. Dead Air
  7. Beautiful
  8. Rain
  9. Satellite
  10. Settle Up
  11. Remedy
  12. From Cover to Cover
  13. Burning Rope
Release date NZ
October 12th, 2012
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...