Fiction Books:

Life Sentences

the unforgettable Irish bestseller
Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Format:

Hardback
Life Sentences by Billy O'Callaghan
$44.00

Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships in 10-14 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 20-25 August using standard courier service

Description

A sweeping historical epic about one Irish family's fight for survival - the most ambitious novel yet from the Costa-shortlisted writer, for fans of Colm Toibin and Sebastian Barry *THE #3 IRISH BESTSELLER* *A SIN AD & RICK 'MUST READS' PICK* An unforgettable tale of love, abandonment, hunger and redemption, from a rising star of Irish fiction 'O'Callaghan is one of our finest writers . . . and this is his best work yet' JOHN BANVILLE ***** At just sixteen, Nancy leaves the small island of Cape Clear for the mainland, the only member of her family to survive the effects of the Great Famine. Finding work in a grand house on the edge of Cork City, she is irrepressibly drawn to the charismatic gardener Michael Egan, sparking a love affair and a devastating chain of events that continues to unfold over three generations. Spanning more than a century, Life Sentences is the unforgettable journey of a family hungry for redemption, and determined against all odds to be free. This sweeping story of one family's fight for survival goes on making the heart lurch long after the final page, and confirms Billy O'Callaghan as one of the finest living Irish writers. ***** 'A lovely, piercing book' SEBASTIAN BARRY 'Stops you in your tracks so you can savour its utter beauty' ANNE GRIFFIN 'Momentous and epic storytelling' BERNARD MACLAVERTY 'So good and true it feels almost magical' SADIE JONES 'Eminently readable . . . My book of the year so far' RYAN TUBRIDY

Author Biography

Billy O'Callaghan is the author of the critically acclaimed novel My Coney Island Baby, which has been translated into nine languages and was shortlisted for the Encore Award 2020. Stories in his short-story collection The Boatman and Other Stories were shortlisted for the Costa Short Story Award and for Writie.ie Short Story of the Year in the An Post Irish Book Awards. He lives in Douglas, a village on the edge of Cork City.
Release date NZ
January 14th, 2021
Audience
  • General (US: Trade)
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Jonathan Cape Ltd
Pages
240
Dimensions
145x223x24
ISBN-13
9781787332447
Product ID
33391147

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...