Rock Records:

Jesus I Was Evil

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 8-12 days

Note: This product can only be shipped to New Zealand or Australia.


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 29 May to 10 Jun using standard courier delivery


  • Branded as a musical genius by his peers, Darcy Clay's flame flared briefly, but left a lasting impression on New Zealand music. He was one of the most cutting edge musicians to emerge from the NZ scene in the 90's. His 6 track EP, featuring the cult hit ‘Jesus I Was Evil’, was released in 1997.
  • The single was recorded in his bedroom on a 4 track recorder accompanied by a video costing $250 and a bottle of whisky. It went to number 5 on the national singles charts, selling gold. In a 2009 poll the song was voted by BFM listeners as their number one playlist song of all time.
  • Darcy Clay’s pioneering talent and “country-fried punk rock” are testament to the cult-like figure he's now become.
  • This re-issue features 12 tracks: the original six (the Bedroom Recordings) and an additional six live tracks (‘Songs for Beethoven’), recording during the Blur support slot on October 24 1997 at the North Shore Events Centre.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Jesus I Was Evil
  2. What About It
  3. Jolene
  4. All I Gotta Do
  5. And It Was Easy
  6. In The Middle
  7. English Rose (live)
  8. All I Gotta Do (live)
  9. It Was Easy (live)
  10. Jolene (live)
  11. What About It (live)
  12. Jesus I Was Evil (live)
Release date NZ
September 21st, 2018
Darcy Clay
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Help & options

Filed under...