Techno & Dance Records:

Here Lies Pollyn 2003 - 2016




Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Here Lies Pollyn, a band which never got the dues they deserved, a band whose influence stretched around the world, a band who can count Hot Chip as fans, but also a band who concentrated on the music instead of arbitrary processes like promotion. This has left them with three critically-acclaimed albums, a little black book full of their own musical heroes as fans and one final brand new single: ‘Findaway Ft. Alexis Taylor’. The anthology, that most bands would be proud to produce, is now presented as a digital download or an impressive three vinyl package as Here Lies Pollyn 2003–2016.

Pollyn are nouveau vintage electronica and have been celebrated as one of LA's most hi-fashion electronic acts. Genevieve Artadi’s porcelain vocal, Anthony Cava's quirky guitars and Adam Jay Weissman’s be­atmaker production make for a potent and unforgettable musical cocktail. Releasing their first EP in 2003, Pollyn originally sampled from old records to bed their iconic vocal with dark analogue synths, dusty beats built with old hip hop drum machines, an ancient Pro Tools set up and trippy vocal fx.

Pollyn are quite simply effortlessly cool, a band's band – if you like – which has led them to work with artists from all over the planet. This is hugely evident on the bonus Remix Album which accompanies this anthology release as it boosts remixes by Matthew Herbert, Dan The
Automator and Moodymann to name just a few.

Adam Jay Weissman says of the Anthology: ‘We spent a lot of time working on Pollyn and not as much time promoting it, so a lot of our music has been overlooked. Self-releasing our own music made it tough to have the reach we wanted. After 10+ years of releases, we wanted something that collects all of our favorite songs into one cohesive package, telling the complete story of Pollyn. It’s like a time capsule on vinyl. We dug through our albums, the singles and unreleased stuff to put together what we consider to be the quintessential retrospective of our music. For the digital release, we added a collection of remixes, many of which were never released or aren’t available on streaming sites. There are so many good ones, that we’re exciting to have them finally seeing the light of day! The artwork was done by underground comic book hero Lawerence “Raw Dog” Hubbard of Real Deal Comix fame.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Gave It Up
  2. Shake It Off
  3. There’s Only One Way Out
  4. This Little Night
Side B:
  1. Dark Thoughtz
  2. If I Chose You
  3. The Long Way
  4. Other Side (Live Version)
Side C:
  1. How Small We Are
  2. Sometimes You Just Know
  3. Outta Luck
  4. Lost in the Night
  5. Cold Sweat (featuring Roc Marciano)
Side D:
  1. Ay Ya Ya Ya (Forever in My Hands)
  2. Hot Air
  3. Our Home Became a House
  4. Look For Light
Side E:
  1. Don’t You Want My Love
  2. Too Late To Change the Past
  3. Dark Tokyo
  4. Distress Signals
  5. Slurp
Side F:
  1. Liars Cheaters
  2. Broken Record
  3. More Wanting
  4. Start the Fire
  5. Findaway (featuring Alexis Taylor)
Release date NZ
September 22nd, 2017
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer previews

Nobody has previewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Preview

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 390 Banana Points