NZ Pop Rock Albums:

Free Range – The Mutton Birds Live 2012



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (4.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


In early 2012 the original line-up of The Mutton Birds reunited after 10 years for a series of concerts in New Zealand, to ecstatic reviews. An intimate show at the King’s Arms in Auckland has resulted in a new album ‘Free Range – The Mutton Birds Live 2012’.

Says lead singer Don McGlashan “It was great reuniting for the tour earlier this year and the one-off show in London. I think we’re playing as good as, or better than we did when we were at our best. There are a few versions of songs on this new album that, for me, eclipse the studio versions, even though it’s a live record.”

‘Free Range’ was recorded and mixed by Andre Upston of Radio New Zealand.

The Mutton Birds began in New Zealand in 1991, founded by singer and songwriter Don McGlashan, who had earlier fronted kiwi favorites Blam Blam Blam and The Front Lawn.

Three years later The Mutton Birds were about as big as it is possible to be in New Zealand. They had released two platinum albums: a self-titled debut and another collection called Salty. They’d scooped music awards, McGlashan had won the APRA Silver Scroll for his song-writing, and they’d become one of the biggest live acts in the country.

In 1995, the band began to get restless and moved to the UK where they turned heads all over Europe. Two more critically acclaimed albums followed: Envy Of Angels (which made the UK Sunday Times Top Ten Albums of the year), and Rain, Steam and Speed (called “a minor masterpiece” by Q Magazine). Although the band’s live following in the UK was growing steadily, some of the members decided to return to NZ which eventually led to
the Mutton Birds disbanding in early 1999. They last played together in 2002.

‘Free Range – The Mutton Birds Live 2012’ contains all the band’s hits, plus a few less-well-known gems, such as the atmospheric “Too Close To The Sun”, and the storming show-stopper “Queen’s English”

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Envy of Angels
  2. Dominion Road
  3. In My Room
  4. A Thing Well Made
  5. Too Close To The Sun
  6. Come Around
  7. Trouble With You
  8. Queen’s English
  9. The Heater
  10. Along The Boundary
  11. White Valiant
  12. Nature
  13. Anchor Me
Release date NZ
November 30th, 2012
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 113 Banana Points