Children & Young Adult Books:

For Freedom

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

For Freedom

The Story of a French

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

For Freedom by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank. Suzanne David's everyday life is suddenly shattered in 1940 when a bomb drops on the main square of her hometown, the city of Cherbourg, France, killing a pregnant neighbor right in front of her. Until then the war had seemed far away, not something that would touch her or her teenage friends. Now Suzanne's family is kicked out onto the street as German soldiers take over their house as a barracks. Suzanne clings to the one thing she really loves--singing. Her voice is so amazing that she is training to become an opera singer. As Suzanne travels around for rehearsals, cosume fittings, or lessons, she learns more about what the Nazis are doing and about the people who are "disappearing." Her travels are noticed by someone else, an organizer of the French Resistance. Soon Suzanne is a secret courier, a spy fighting for France and risking her own life for freedom. [STAR] "This taut, engrossing World War II novel instantly immerses readers, ...[but] the real focus, however, is the skin-crawling suspense story about one of France's youngest spies. Each chapter brings new intrigue and often shocking revelations...resonat[ing] with authenticity, excitement, and heart."-Booklist, Starred [STAR] "This suspenseful novel, ...based on a true story, moves swiftly into action...Filled, but not laden, with the events of the war, and peppered with French language and the culture of music, this novel will appeal to readers who enjoy history and espionage."-SLJ, Starred [STAR] "Based on Bradley's interviews with the real Suzanne, this is an exciting account of a girl's coming of age in a scary time. The historical context is neatly woven into the story."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred "The action will have readers on the edge through the tense conclusion, and the epilogue is not to be missed."-The Bulletin "A highly compelling look at the covert battle for freedom."-Publishers Weekly An IRA Teachers' Choice An ALA Amelia Bloomer Selection A VOYA Top Shelf Fiction Selection A New York Public Library Book Pick A Bank Street College Best Book of the Year From the Hardcover edition.

Author Biography

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley is the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of several novels, including Ruthie's Gift, One-of-a-Kind Mallie, Weaver's Daughter, Halfway to the Sky, and For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy. Bradley and her husband have two children and they live on a farm in eastern Tennesse, in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. From the Hardcover edition.
Release date NZ
February 1st, 2005
Country of Publication
United States
Imprint
Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group
Interest Age
From 12 years
Pages
192
Dimensions
111x176x13
ISBN-13
9780440418313
Product ID
1669320

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 62 Banana Points