Alternative Rock Albums:

First Impressions Of Earth [Explicit Lyrics]

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

First Impressions Of Earth [Explicit Lyrics]

Click to share your rating 2 ratings (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 2 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Excellent album."
5 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

I've always liked this album despite some harsh criticism over the years. It is simply great American indie rock and I don't ever tire of listening to it.


This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.

The Strokes: Julian Casablancas (vocals); Nick Valensi, Albert Hammond Jr. (guitar); Nikolai Fraiture (bass instrument); Fab Moretti (drums).

With 2006's FIRST IMPRESSIONS OF EARTH, the Strokes have not only crafted an album that cracks the 36-minute mark, they've also opted for a bolder sound, courtesy of veteran producer David Kahne. While these changes don't mean a drastically different direction for the New York City-based rock band, they do indicate that frontman Julian Casablancas and the boys are in a more adventurous mode.

EARTH's initial single, the driving, hard-edged "Juicebox," features Casablancas giving a raspy vocal performance that sounds more impassioned than anything on the group's previous outings, while "On the Other Side" is an almost breezy tune that has the singer recalling the plaintive delivery of Bono. Throughout the record, drummer Fab Moretti and bassist Nikolai Fraiture anchor the proceedings with unflappable rhythmic precision, allowing guitarists Albert Hammond, Jr., and Nick Valensi the freedom to lay down alternately searing and chiming six-string lines that add palpable verve to these 14 tunes. A band that has seen both over-the-top hype and its inevitable backlash, the Strokes seem eager to venture forward on FIRST IMPRESSIONS OF EARTH, an album that should not only quiet accusations of sonic sameness but win over new fans.

What the critics say...

Spin (p.88) - "Jules' croon remains one of the most beautiful messes in contemporary music..." -- Grade: B-
Entertainment Weekly (p.75) - "If it feels more like a showcase of new approaches and ideas than of perfectly turned songs, it's still a hot ride." - Grade: B+
Q (p.121) - Ranked #40 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006" -- "[F]rontman Julian Casablancas still sounded remarkably surly."
Uncut (p.68) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "FIRST the sound of a group coming back to earth after a remarkable rocket-ride and knuckling down to their task."
Magnet (p.113) - "The drum-less, string-adorned 'Ask Me Anything' is a beautiful mid-record palate cleanser."
Mojo (Publisher) (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[Electricityscape] is a dalliance with rock bombast that actually works, its pummelling drums, cyclical guitar strafes and urban melodrama channelling the spirit of Springsteen's 'Born To Run'."

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. You Only Live Once
  2. Juicebox
  3. Heart In A Cage
  4. Razorblade
  5. On The Other Side
  6. Vision Of Division
  7. Ask Me Anything
  8. Electricityscape
  9. Killing Lies
  10. Fear Of Sleep
  11. 15 Minutes
  12. Ize Of The World
  13. Evening Sun
  14. Red Light
Release date NZ
January 1st, 2007
RCA Records (USA)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...