Rock Albums:

Faith and Science



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Now re - issued on Liberation Music, 'Faith &Science' was Shane's Nicholson's second solo album, a confident, diverse and finely crafted collection of tunes that were given the time to grow up and find their own feet.

Eleven years ago Shane was introduced to the world via his hard working, Brisbane-based rock outfit Pretty Violet Stain. They scored a load of airplay, released a couple of EPs and an album and toured Australia incessantly. After that debut (and final) album, Parachutes & Gravity, was delayed for the third time running, Shane began to consider other avenues for his music.

The result was 'It's A Movie', a beautifully sparse and simple collection of classic singer-songwriter tunes. As a solo offering, it did everything good solo albums should - it was intimate, confessional and dripped with honesty so raw it almost needed disinfecting.

But Shane wanted something more dynamic for his second outing, and from the opening strength of Safe And Sound, you can hear exactly what he means. That incredibly emotional voice is still there, but solidly backed by the music you know is driving his heart. It's not surprising when you conside that Australian luminaries such as Diesel and Jim Moginie (Midnight Oil), perform on the album. "I realised that by letting go a little bit and by trusting some other people's judgment, especially Nash's [Chambers, producer], you can be pleasantly surprised by where your songs can go. I did make a conscious decision that I wanted that to happen on this record That's most of the reason that I still really like this album - there are parts of it that I'm still discovering that other people did that I'm liking more all the time."

Faith and science - we all need a bit of both when it comes down to it.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Safe And Sound
  2. Everybody Loves You Now
  3. Stolen Car (with Kasey Chambers)
  4. Set Me Up
  5. I Know What You Need
  6. All The Time In The World
  7. I Can Change (with Kasey Chambers)
  8. Always Be On Your Side (with diesel)
  9. Acrobat Ache
  10. Big In Japan
  11. Tourist (Stand In One Place)
  12. Home
  13. Shelter (with Amiel)
Release date NZ
June 29th, 2009
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help

Buy this and earn 100 Banana Points