Pop Albums:

Every Open Eye

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Every Open Eye



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 4 ratings (4.5/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars Based on 4 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Write a Review
"Great second album with lots of strong melodies."
4 stars"
Purchased on Mighty Ape

The second album from these Glaswegians builds on the first album.The melodies are stronger and the song writing better developed.Hardly a dud track on the whole cd.One you can play over and over and not get sick of it.


Every Open Eye’ is the follow up to the band’s breakthrough debut album, ‘The Bones of What You Believe’, which was released in September 2013 to widespread critical acclaim and went on to sell over 500,000 copies worldwide. Includes ‘Leave A Trace’, ‘Clearest Blue’ and ‘Never Ending Circles’. Made in CHVRCHES’ Alucard Studios – a converted three-bedroom flat on the southside of Glasgow – ‘Every Open Eye’ offers an alternative approach in a climate of music written by committee or the same handful of well-known songwriters, going back to the idea that a band can write, record and produce their work entirely by themselves.

Using some ideas the band had recorded in venues during their time on the road as a starting point, the band found riffs, loops and melodies they wanted to develop or started from scratch on the synths, pads and machines they had been gathering in their basement to create the instrumentals of the songs. Vocal melodies were developed as the songs took shape with the lyrics added last, developed from words and sentences from notebooks Mayberry had kept on tour. Sonically, ‘Every Open Eye’ develops CHVRCHES’ signature style, juxtaposing the light and the dark, creating their own brand of twisted pop music that uniquely merges the organic with the electronic, moulding sounds and ideas forged over two years on the road into an electronic-pop record with a heart.

The band has appeared at Laneway Festival in NZ & AUS and Splendour In The Grass, and played festivals such as Coachella, Bonnaroo, Sasquatch, Lollapalooza, Reading & Leeds and Summer Sonic. CHVRCHES played 364 shows in 2 years. ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’ debuted at #13 on the ARIA charts and #35 in New Zealand. Available on CD and vinyl. First single ‘Leave A Trace’ was premiered on ZM and is at radio now.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Never Ending Circles
  2. Leave A Trace
  3. Keep You On My Side
  4. Make Them Gold
  5. Clearest Blue
  6. High Enough To Carry You Over
  7. Empty Threat
  8. Down Side Of Me
  9. Playing Dead
  10. Bury It
  11. Afterglow
  12. Get Away
  13. Follow You
  14. Bow Down
Release date NZ
September 25th, 2015
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID


Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 150 Banana Points