Fiction Books:

Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler

Format

Hardback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler by Carl-Johan Vallgren
Unavailable
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Description

St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a poker game. he Devil accepts the invitation and unsurprisingly Rubashov loses. However, the price is not straight to hell as he expected (hell is full and has been for years), the punishment is immortality. Rubashov has great difficulty coming to terms with his ever-lasting life; he now sees no end to what is already a miserable existence. Unsuccessful suicide attempts lead him to take up Russian roulette, but before long the money is piling up and he has amassed a small fortune, enabling him to embark on a very different way of life... n this bizarre trip through Europe, Rubashov encounters some of the twentieth century's most notorious characters. Vallgren s bizarre picaresque tale is destined to stand alongside The Master and Margarita as a genre classic, and for fans of The Horrific Suffering of the Mind-reading Monster Hercules Barefoot..., Rubashov s adventures will be sheer delight.

Author Biography

CARL-JOHAN VALLGREN was born in 1964. He is the author of eight novels, of which The Horrific Sufferings of the Mind-reading Monster Hercules Barefoot...was the first novel to be appear in English. His work has been translated into eleven languages. He lives in Stockholm.
Release date NZ
July 5th, 2007
Contributor
Edited by Sarah Death
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Imprint
Harvill Secker
Pages
304
Dimensions
163x242x27
ISBN-13
9781846550027
Product ID
1671011

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 120 Banana Points