Fiction Books:

Desert Boys

Format

Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Desert Boys by Chris McCormick
$28.00
In stock with supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock in with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships within 6-8 days

Availability

Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 30 Jul to 2 Aug using standard courier delivery

Description

In the tradition of startling debuts such as We, the Animals by Justin Torres, Desert Boys follows the life of Daley Kushner, growing up, coming out, and grappling with the remnants of his childhood in California's Mojave Desert. This series of powerful, linked stories illuminates Daley's world-the family, friends, and community that have both formed and constrained him, and his new life in San Francisco. Back home, the desert preys on those who cannot conform: an alfalfa farmer on the outskirts of town; two young girls whose curiosity leads to danger; a black politician who once served as his school's Confederate mascot; Daley's mother, an immigrant from Armenia; and Daley himself, introspective and queer. Meanwhile, in another desert on the other side of the world, war threatens to fracture Daley's most meaningful-and most fraught-connection to home, his friendship with Robert Karinger. Both a bildungsroman and a portrait of a changing place, Desert Boys traces the development of towns into cities, of boys into men, and the terrain between the desire to escape and the hunger to belong. . For readers of Justin Torres

Author Biography

Chris McCormick was raised in the Antelope Valley. He earned his B.A. at the University of California, Berkeley, and his M.F.A. at the University of Michigan, where he was the recipient of two Hopwood Awards. He lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
Release date NZ
January 26th, 2018
Country of Publication
United States
Imprint
St Martin's Press
Pages
240
Dimensions
165x220x25
ISBN-13
9781250141019
Product ID
26788966

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...