R&B & Hip Hop Records:

BOOMBOX 3: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro And Disco Rap 1979-83

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

BOOMBOX 3: Early Independent Hip Hop, Electro And Disco Rap 1979-83



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Soul Jazz Records’ new Boombox 3 continues their story of the first rap records to be put onto vinyl. It is a jam-packed collection of original independent ‘old-school’ hip-hop, created with just one thing in mind – to get this party jumping! After the explosion of hip hop in the parks and clubs of The Bronx in the mid-1970s, it was in Harlem where the first rap records emerged at the end of 1979 – an avalanche of superb rap tracks released on small independent labels all trying to capitalise on the success of ‘Rappers Delight.’ Like hip hop culture itself, these first rap singles are the product of their own unique set of aesthetics – exciting and innovative rap performed with Bronx block party B-Boy funk breaks, disco jams and Jamaican sound system culture. The extensive sleevenotes discuss hip-hop’s trajectory from the first wave of Bronx creativity – the legendary DJs Kool Herc, Grandmaster Flash and Afrika Bambaataa – through to its arrival in Harlem via the entrepreneurism of old-school African-American rhythm and blues producers and émigré Jamaican producers all living in New York. Along the way the notes discuss everything from the New York power blackout of 1977, the Italian mafia involvement in the music industry, the links between rap and Jamaican dancehall and more besides! Boombox 3 features a line-up of stunning, near unknown New York rap artists, classic disco breaks (including Chic’s omnipotent Good Times, MFSB’s Love Is the Message, Queen’s Another One Bites The Dust etc.), proto-electro and more. And by the early 1980s the first rap records outside New York began to emerge – Los Angeles, Houston, Milwaukee, Phoenix – and the first of these are also featured here in this new collection.

Track Listing:

Side A:
  1. Majestics - Class A
  2. Brother's Disco - Thumpin
  3. Mifflin Ensemble - On The Move
  4. Sherod - Schooling (Put Your Mind To The Message)
  5. Sugar Daddy - Another One Bites The Dust
  6. Family Four - Rap Attack
  7. She - Ms D.J. Rap It Up!
  8. The Caution Crew - Rhythm Rock (Part 1)
  9. Poor Boy Rappers - The D.J. Rap
  10. Family - Family Rap (6.56)
  11. Bobby Deemo - Bugs-BSkate Rap
  12. Teen-Machine - TeenMachine Rap
  13. T.J. Swann & Company - Get Fly
  14. Poor Boy Rappers - Low Rider Rap
  15. Sicle Cell & Rhapazooty - Rhapazooty In Blue
  16. Mr. Fox - Smooth Talk
  17. Solid C, Bobby D & Kool Drop - Wack Rap
  18. Disco Daddy & Capt. Rapp - The Gigolo Rapp
Release date NZ
June 8th, 2018
Soul Jazz
Number of Discs
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 348 Banana Points