Rock Albums:

Body Blow



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 1 rating (5.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product


Available on orders $100 to $1000. Learn more

Hurry! Only 2 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships today!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tonight 6-9pm using Same Day Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tonight to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Tomorrow using standard courier delivery


The Headless Chickens will release a very special extended reissue of landmark album, Body Blow. Bundled into a double LP (available on CD and vinyl) the selected tracks are a somewhat, historic culmination of the band’s time over the Body Blow years.

Body Blow is a complicated tale,” recounts Russell Brown, NZ music journalist and close friend of the Headless Chickens whānau.

“It’s the middle child of Headless Chickens albums, and, as two major releases with quite different track listings, not only kicked off the bands most successful years – all but one of their chart hits can be found on one or other of the releases – but represents the whole span of those years.”


The newly remastered, extended reissue nods to the years between 1991–1994, covering original Body Blow tracks such as the two hit versions of Cruise Control, as well as tracks like George (that featured on follow up versions of the album). Trivia point: The latter remains Flying Nun’s only #1 chart single to date. Along with remixes, you are further rewarded with rare cuts like their grizzly take on ABBA’s Supertrou­per.

In the most quintessential Headless Chickens way possible, Body Blow carries a mind and a sound of its own. At the time, it was completely unlike anything else before it. Following its 1988 predecessor, the cult-favourite ‘Stunt Clown’ (winner of the 2018 Taite Music Prize Classic Record), Body Blow would take the group to new, unchartered heights, reaching a wider audience while managing to stay true to their independent, artistic ways. These years captured on record are a testament to the longevity of the Headless Chickens’ bold creativity, and long term influence over a new generation of artists. It is one of those few records that translates well into a new era.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Donde Esta La Pollo
  2. Cruise Control
  3. Crash Hot
  4. Railway Surfing
  5. Nose
  6. Million $ Dream
  7. Gaskrankinstation
  8. Body Blow
  9. Choppers (Helibatorn version)
  10. Donde Esta La Pollo (Kentucky Freud Chicken remix)
  11. Choppers (Koppelman version)
  12. Mr Moon
  13. Juice
  14. Cruise Control (Eskimo & Egypt remix)
  15. George
  16. Super Trouper
  17. Attack of the Killer
  18. Bestiary
  19. Kitchen Sink theme
  20. I’m Talking To You
Release date NZ
April 12th, 2019
Flying Nun Records
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Based on 1 Customer Ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...