Easy Listening & Folk Albums:

Best Of

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!


Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


The Hi-Marks comprised three brothers – Hayward, George, Ellington ‘Butch’ Ruka, and their nephew John Ruka. The leader and most experienced of the group was Butch Ruka. Making his name as a solo performer, he toured with Allison Durbin, Johnny Devlin, Nash Chase and many other top artists of that era. His love for entertaining inspired him to unite with his brothers and nephew to form a quartet. After many hours of practicing harmony; concentrating mainly on reviving songs by The Platters, Mills Brothers and their own traditional Maori music, the new Hi-Marks emerged.

In 1978 the group entered talent quests – always finishing with a placing. Still not satisfied with their music career and eager to move in new directions, they approached Cammy Hill, of Dudley-Hill Promotions after reading a write-up on her career as an entertainment agent in a city newspaper. Under her guidance, a floorshow was put together, choreographer organised, charts written and a sound system purchased. A show at last! Christmas saw them appearing in several cabarets around Auckland. Appearances on television followed with spots on the Club Show and Telethon. Regretfully no footage remains of any of these live performances.

Cammy Hill introduced the group to Gary Daverne and Glyn Tucker of Mandrill Studios in 1979 and over the following 18 months they produced two albums, earning them Gold and Platinum awards.

This collection represents the best tracks from those recording sessions, digitally re-mastered from the original master-tapes by Glyn Tucker, who had recorded the original sessions back in 1979/80.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Personality
  2. Cab Driver
  3. The Great Pretender
  4. Hoki Mai/Pa Mai
  5. My Girl
  6. Only You
  7. Amazing Grace
  8. Twighlight Time
  9. Be My Guest
  10. You Send Me
  11. Mona Lisa
  12. Vaya Con Dios
  13. Karu Karu
  14. My Prayer
  15. Sh-Boom
  16. I Believe
  17. Magic Touch
Disc 2:
  1. Till
  2. Love Me With All Of Your Heart
  3. Pokarekare Ana
  4. Mockingbird
  5. Angel Smile
  6. Young Love
  7. Let Me Be Your Teddy Bear
  8. Born Free
  9. Quando Quando
  10. Kia Ora
  11. Little Sister
  12. Everything's Fine
  13. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  14. Maybe I'm Dreaming
  15. King Of The Road
  16. Viva Las Vegas
Release date NZ
August 23rd, 2013
Manufacturer code:
Universal Music
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...