Beach Boys, The - Nashville Sounds


General Audience

General Audience

Suitable for general audiences.

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

Sorry, this product is no longer available to order


After almost a decade apart from the rest of the Beach Boys, Brian Wilson re-united with them in 1996 at the behest of Capitol Records in the U.S. 35 years after their first hit-single, the plan was to record a number of classic Beach Boys songs with some of country music's biggest names, thus bringing together two major forces within American popular music. With Brian Wilson as producer, the result was the album 'Stars & Stripes' that, whilst retaining the Beach Boys trademark close harmony backing vocals; also, in Mike Love's words, brought "a whole new life and new personality" to the songs.

'Nashville Sounds - The Making Of Stars & Stripes' documents the sessions for the album & gives us an intimate behind-the-scenes look as the Beach Boys record with a star sudded line-up.

With only one ommision, that of Ricky Van Shelton's take on 'Fun, Fun, Fun', all of the songs from the 'Stars & Stripes' album are included here; plus, as a bonus, the DVD includes 2 songs that didn't make the release version of the album, namely 'Sail On Sailor' and 'In My Room'.

The documentary concludes with a Beach Boys live performance of 'Do It Again' from the 1996 International Country Music Fan Fair.

'Stars & Stripes' would be the last time that the remaining members of the band recorded together on a Beach Boys album.


  • Don't Worry Baby - with Lorrie Morgan
  • Warmth Of The Sun - with Willie Nelson
  • Little Deuce Coupe - with James House
  • Sail On Sailor - with Rodney Crowell
  • Caroline, No - with Timothy B. Schmit
  • 409 - with Junior Brown
  • Sloop John B - with Collin Ray
  • Long Tall Texan - with Doug Supernaw
  • I Get Around - with Sawyer Brown
  • Be True To Your School - with Toby Keith
  • Help Me Rhonda - with T.Graham Brown
  • In My Room - with Tammy Wynette
  • I Can Hear Music - with Kathy Troccoli
  • Do It Again - LIVE!
  • Release date NZ
    February 29th, 2004
    Length (Minutes)
    Aspect Ratio
    • 1.33 : 1
    Supported Audio
    • Dolby Digital Surround 5.1
    Movie Format
    • DVD
    DVD Region
    • Region 4
    • Standard Edition
    Product ID

    Customer reviews

    Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

    Write a Review

    Marketplace listings

    There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
    Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

    Sell Yours Here

    Help & options

    • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
    • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help

    Buy this and earn 240 Banana Points

    Banana points will no longer be offered after Monday, 27th May 2019. Check out our blog for details