Pop Albums:

After the Dam Broke

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!



Available on orders $100 to $1000 Learn more

Available from supplier

The item is brand new and in-stock with one of our preferred suppliers. The item will ship from the Mighty Ape warehouse within the timeframe shown below.

Usually ships in 6-8 days
Free Delivery with Primate
Join Now or upgrade at checkout


Delivering to:

Estimated arrival:

  • Around 18-21 May using standard courier service


For those who remember him, John Hanlon’s star rose rapidly for a few short years in the 70s, burned brightly and then faded quickly. So much so that he is rarely mentioned when New Zealand’s musical heroes are discussed today, which is incredible when you look at what he achieved. Fans will know that John essentially dominated the music scene in the 70s: three Composer of the Year awards in succession, two Album of the Year Awards in succession, and two APRA Silver Scrolls.

His recordssold in numbers that seem unimaginable today, often remaining in the charts for months on end. He was by any measure a hugely successful recording artist, and arguably the first major singer‐songwriter in New Zealand’s history. Some of his better‐known hits such as Lovely Lady, Damn the Damand Higher Trails are still heard on radio today.

In recent years John has started recording again, which means he now has a body of work that spans four decades, with many more in the pipeline.

This double‐disc compilation is made up of songs chosen by John himself,selected from work recorded up to 2010,from the albums‘Garden Fresh’, ‘Higher Trails’, ‘Use Your Eyes’, ‘Short Stories’, ‘Just Quietly’ and ‘12 Shades of Blue’. As a bonus,there is also a trio of unreleased tracks.

This handsome CD is packaged with a 28 page booklet which includes lyrics, notes by John on the music, and photographs.

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. On A Hillside in the Rain
  2. Knowing
  3. Is It Natural
  4. Damn the Dam
  5. I Care
  6. Blue Shoes
  7. Should I Live-
  8. Why Wasn’t it Me?
  9. I’ll be Back
  10. Wingsongs
  11. Lazy Day
  12. Apple Wine
  13. Lovely Lady
  14. Higher Trails
  15. Nightlife
  16. Dance for Me
  17. Peaceful
  18. I Still Believe We Can Make It
  19. Our Boy
  20. Sandy, Your Mother’s In Love
Disc 2:
  1. Along the Way
  2. Romantically Inclined
  3. Alice
  4. Don’t It Ever Get You Down-
  5. Tigers
  6. How Beautiful You Are
  7. Anna
  8. Young At Heart
  9. Boats Upon the Harbour
  10. Underneath the Moon
  11. Twenty Men in Penguin Suits
  12. Chocolates and Roses
  13. I Had to Walk Away
  14. Words You Never Said
  15. All there ever is
  16. There’s Something Going On Around Here
  17. Sliding
  18. Everything
  19. Carnival
  20. Don’t go Forgetting Me
Release date NZ
August 30th, 2013
Ode Records New Zealand
Number of Discs
Original Release Year
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

Filed under...