Non-Fiction Books:

A Glasgow Trilogy

Sorry, this product is not currently available to order

Here are some other products you might consider...

A Glasgow Trilogy

The Boy Who Wanted Peace; Grace and Miss Partridge; Mr Alfred M. A.


Paperback / softback

Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

A Glasgow Trilogy by George Friel
Sorry, this product is not currently available to order


Distinguished by irony, compassion and the author's own dry wit, these three novels paint a memorable picture of life in the streets, schools and tenements of Glasgow in the 1950s and 60s. With a unique vision of loneliness, old age, sexual longing, hot young blood and youth's casual cruelty, George Friel's books explore a dark comedy of tangled communication, human need and fading community. All these elements come together in the humorous parable of greed, religion and slum youth that is The Boy Who Wanted Peace; in the fate of old and disturbed Miss Partridge who is obsessed with the innocence of young Grace; and in the mental collapse of Mr Alfred, a middle-aged schoolteacher who is in love with one of this pupils. The humour, realism and moral concern of Friel's work clearly anticipate and stand alongside the novels of Alan Spence, Alasdair Gray, William McIlvanney and James Kelman.

Author Biography

George Friel was born in 1910, the fourth of seven children. He attended Glasgow University, where he began to write. Until 1940 he worked as a teacher. After serving in the war he returned to live in Bishopbriggs, where he resumed his teaching career. He wrote slowly, and his three great novels were published between 1964 and 1972; The Glasgow Trilogy includes The Boy who Wanted Peace, Mr Alfred MA and Grace and Miss Partridge. His refusal to compromise and his integrity were out of fashion for his times, and he experienced much rejection during his lifetime. It is ironic that the literary rediscovery and rebirth of Scotland, of which he is so important a part, began shortly after his death in 1975.
Release date NZ
June 1st, 1999
Introduction by Gordon Jarvie
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Canongate Classics
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
Filed under...

Buy this and earn 180 Banana Points