Classical & Opera Albums:

24 Tone Clocks



Customer rating

Click to share your rating 0 ratings (0.0/5.0 average) Thanks for your vote!

Share this product

20% off
$24.00 was $30.00
until or while stock lasts
Hurry! Only 2 left at Mighty Ape!

The item is brand new and in-stock in the Mighty Ape warehouse. The item will ship within the timeframe shown below.

Order now and it ships tomorrow!


Mighty Fast Delivery Guaranteed

This product is In stock at Mighty Ape and ready for immediate dispatch

Delivering to:

It should arrive:

  • Tomorrow 6-9pm using Evening Express Delivery
    Mighty Ape can deliver this product in the evening between 6pm - 9pm tomorrow to qualifying addresses in Auckland. Learn more
  • Thursday using standard courier delivery


24 Tone Clocks

Featuring two of New Zealand's finest pianists, Jenny McLeod's 24 Tone Clocks is the definitive recording of an extraordinary series of compositions. A lifetime in the making, 24 Tone Clocks is a summation of Jenny's decades-long immersion into Peter Schat's ‘tone clock’ theory of chromatic harmony.

In the early 80s Peter Schat introduced Jenny to his compositional theories, and she immediately recognised many ideas she had already discovered for herself. “It dawned on me,” says Jenny, "that Schat had come up with the basis for a new terminology and framework of thinking with reference to the (equal-tempered 12-note) chromatic system-something that I felt was not only simple, practical and workable, but also fresh and full of imaginative potential for the composer. Later in Amsterdam, Schat showed me the rest of his writings, which were largely in Dutch. I came home and immediately started learning Dutch, so as to translate and understand all of it. These translations were eventually published in English as Peter Schat's The Tone Clock.


  • Michael Houstoun (piano, tracks 1–6, 19–24)
  • Diedre Irons (piano, tracks 7–18)

Track Listing:

Disc 1:
  1. Tone Clock Piece I (2:23) 1988
  2. Tone Clock Piece II (2:42) 1988
  3. Tone Clock Piece III (5:09) 1989
  4. Tone Clock Piece IV (2:26) 1989
  5. Tone Clock Piece V (3:46) 1988, a.k.a. Vive Messiaen!
  6. Tone Clock Piece VI (3:11) 1989
  7. Tone Clock Piece VII (3:43) 1989
  8. Tone Clock Piece VIII (4:38) 1995
  9. Tone Clock Piece IX (5:48) 1995
  10. Tone Clock Piece X (3:38) 1995
  11. Tone Clock Piece XI (3:43) 1995
  12. Tone Clock Piece XII (6:18) 2003, a.k.a. Meditation on Psalm 134
Disc 2:
  1. Tone Clock Piece XIII (5:00) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack I
  2. Tone Clock Piece XIV (5:14) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack II
  3. Tone Clock Piece XV (5:44) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack III
  4. Tone Clock Piece XVI (5:44) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack IV
  5. Tone Clock Piece XVII (4:04) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack V
  6. Tone Clock Piece XVIII (5:12) 2007, a.k.a. Landscape Prelude
  7. Tone Clock Piece XIX (5:06) 2011, a.k.a. Moon, Night Birds, Dark Pools
  8. Tone Clock Piece XX (1:32) 2011, a.k.a. Te Kapowai (Dragonfly)
  9. Tone Clock Piece XXI (3:59) 2011, a.k.a. Early Dawn to Sunrise-Earthfall
  10. Tone Clock Piece XXII (4:21) 2011, a.k.a. Haka
  11. Tone Clock Piece XXIII (4:36) 2011, a.k.a. Pyramids, Symmetries, Crevices of Sleep
  12. Tone Clock Piece XXIV (4:43) 2011, a.k.a. Dream Waves (surfing the planet ...)
Release date NZ
November 25th, 2016
Rattle Music
Album Length (Minutes)
Number of Discs
Box Dimensions (mm)
Product ID

Customer reviews

Nobody has reviewed this product yet. You could be the first!

Write a Review

Marketplace listings

There are no Marketplace listings available for this product currently.
Already own it? Create a free listing and pay just 9% commission when it sells!

Sell Yours Here

Help & options

  • If you think we've made a mistake or omitted details, please send us your feedback. Send Feedback
  • If you have a question or problem with this product, visit our Help section. Get Help
  • Seen a lower price for this product elsewhere? We'll do our best to beat it. Request a better price
Filed under...